Why I write? That’s like asking why I breathe. It’s just, something I have to do. If I think of a line, a phrase, a paragraph, I need to write it down, or it’ll pick at me until I do, like some sort of obsessive-compulsive thing. For me not to write is like for a bird to not fly, a fish to not swim, a heart to not beat. I guess in the most simplistic way, I write for me. Writing is the only way I have to escape. I can be alone in my room, sitting on my bed, and the next minuet I can be on a boat to Africa in the 1930’s. It’s a way I can express myself, without having to worry about what others might think of me. I write to let my other persona shine through. The only other time he comes around is when I hear that certain musician I love so much. But, I don’t just write. I paint, I sketch, hell, I even try to sing. But it’s all when I don’t feel like Thomas. Tommy and Thomas have become two completely different people. Thomas is a shy, timid nerd who always keeps to himself. Tommy is the vivacious, GaGa loving character who most people now have grown accustomed too. The problem is, Thomas still makes his casual appearances. And when he does, I write, or I paint, or I sketch, and by doing so, Tommy comes out and shuts Thomas out. I sit in the back of the room, staring at everyone hunched over, scribbling words on a paper because you gave them an assignment. I don’t write for you guys. I write for the kid who writes short stories in Algebra class. For the kid who comes to school covered in paint because he was up all night in his room working on his latest painting. I write for that weird kid who goes to shows and is right up front singing every word, dancing to every beat. I write for the kids who don’t have friends, the so-called “freaks and geeks.” I write because one day I hope those kids realize, we aren’t freaks because we’re different. Everyone else is the freak for being the same. I’m not saying we’re normal though. Who would wants to be one of the normies and the drearies? Not me. We’re the ones who are going to tour the world one day, making art for millions of people to appreciate. We’re the one who are going to have our own fan clubs with official t-shirts. I write because one day we’ll be the ones they look up to.